Dr. Mohanlal P. Ponniah is presently Prof. Satish Dhawan Professor, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST).

Dr. Mohanlal P. Ponniah was a senior scientist in Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), India for 39 years. He joined the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre of ISRO in 1977, after graduation from Madras University in Electronics and Communication Engineering. Since then he has held several positions in ISRO.

He was Former Director of ISRO Inertial Systems Unit and Technical Leader of development of inertial sensors, systems, Inertial actuators and special mechanisms for ISRO’s Launch vehicles, spacecraft, re-entry and scientific missions including Indian Moon and Mars Missions.

He has developed automated test systems and test methods for electronic parts testing including for RF and microwave devices. He developed automated instrumentation system, balancing algorithm and software for Schenck vertical dynamic balancing machine as import substitute. Specialised in Navigation electronics, Kalman Filter design for integrated navigation (GPS-INS), tracking loops design for high dynamic GNSS receiver design and led the development of inertial sensors, systems, actuators and mechanisms.

He received his Ph.D. and M.Tech degrees in Computer science and Applied electronics & Instrumentation in 2005 and 1995 respectively from University of Kerala. He obtained his B.E. degree from Madras University in Electronics and communication engineering in 1976.

He has 40 research publications in journals, international/national conferences and 590 technical reports to his credit. He has an Indian Patent on improving GPS positioning under spinning body conditions. He has delivered 17 invited technical lectures / course lectures / AICTE lectures.

He is a Fellow of Astronautical Society of India, Fellow of Aeronautical Society of India, Fellow of Institution of Engineers India, Fellow of Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers India, Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) and Senior Member of IEEE.